Obesity

September 6, 2004 9:31 p.m.


I watched an episode of 'Real Life' on MTV today. It dealt with obesity. There were 3 people on there, one who was plus-sized and proud, a high school kid who was wanting to have WLS, and another woman who was set to have the surgery.

How scary is it to be at the point where you feel like your only options are death or surgery? Even at the weight I am now, I can't see myself making the decision to undergo something so serious and permanent. I know I can lose weight on my own, and I'm comfortable with the thought of never being skinny. I don't want to be skinny, I just want to be skinnier than I am now. Less fat.

I had a close friend who had gastric bypass done about 2 years ago. She didn't learn to change her lifestyle, and while she's not at the weight she was when she had the surgery, she's slowly putting the pounds back on. She's never made the connection between the old lifestyle being the problem.

That may be one of the biggest reasons I don't want to have surgery. What happens if I put my body through such a drastic procedure only to find out that I can't live up to the requirements afterwards? I know it's not an easy decision in any way, but at least losing weight naturally works FOR ME because I have the time to understand just how much goes into getting the pounds off.

I don't ever want to get to the point where I feel like I can eat whatever I want because someday I'll have surgery and the fat will disappear. I don't want to ever give up on myself so completely that I wind up weighing 600 lbs. What I do want is to someday be so proud of my diva self that I can shake my stuff anywhere and know in my heart I look good doing it.



|


last & next

newest archives rings mail weight chart fitness log rewards image design host

Blogroll Me!


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com