Finally moving my butt

September 15, 2004 11:16 a.m.


I exercised!!

Finally, in my 4th week OP, I got off my butt and DID something :) I did the WATP 2 mile DVD yesterday. I did okay, better than I thought I would. I didn't expect to get past 1 mile, but I did. I was definitely tired afterwards, but not so tired that I couldn't do anything. Just enough to feel like I did a good job, and I could enjoy it.

Today I took my oldest for a walk to the park. We didn't stay long - turns out they'd taken out all the play equipment since I'd last seen it. Very disappointing for him :( We sat down for a few minutes to drink some water, then came home. We walked a total of 1.25 miles. Not too bad! What does bother me though is that last year around this time, I was walking twice that and feeling the way I do now. The distance we walked today wouldn't have phased me too much. Baby steps though - I can't expect to be back to where I was overnight.

This may sound bad, but since we don't have a dog anymore to pester me for walks, I'm going to try to get my son to play the part. He loves to go places (like any other 3 year old), so maybe he'll be the one to pressure me each day to get my walk in. We just need to get him a different stroller - the umbrella one we used today is too short for my height and my hands are ACHING from it. Hopefully he'll be able to fit into the baby's stroller. Eventually I'd like to get a jogging stroller when the baby is older and I take him with me - probably in the spring. Right now he'd just sleep the whole way, or worse, wake up hungry and demand to be held or something when I'm a mile or 2 from home. Besides that, going for walks with my 3 year old is FUN. He talks a lot, and points out everything he sees, definitely more fun than any old dog ;)

I'm not planning on exercising too much this week. Since I've already gone twice, I want to go once more before the week is over. I want to try to avoid the water weight that can come along with exercising too much too soon. I don't think my confidence can take a huge gain right now, even if I KNOW I'm staying OP and doing what I should.

As long as I follow the program, and exercise, I know the weight will eventually come off. My goal is to be considerably smaller in 2 years, when my son starts kindergarten. I don't want to be the fat mom, since I do plan on being involved in his classroom. I think it'd be great fun to be a room mother :) I don't think the kids will really notice a fat woman at that age, since most little ones don't care. It's the other mothers I don't want looking down on me, thinking I let my kid eat junk just because I obviously do *rolls eyes*. They might not let their kids come over, and that just wouldn't be fair to MY kid :(

|


last & next

newest archives rings mail weight chart fitness log rewards image design host

Blogroll Me!


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com